Since the early 1900's, the Hotel Savoy has welcomed discerning visitors to Madeira. From a small family business with humble ambitions and the name "Royal Hotel", grew a tradition of sincere and discerning hospitality. In 1914 the hotel's name was changed to the Hotel Savoy and subsequently had so much success that the hotel was twice extended to be able to cater for the ever increasing demand for its unique atmosphere and facilities.
In the early days, visitors were brought to the hotel by bullock cart from the harbour. The first taxi on the island was hired to replace the bullock carts and well before the islands airport was built, a flying boat service was introduced from Southampton to Madeira. Many famous celebrities came to the Hotel Savoy, as its reputation for excellence grew worldwide.